Things That define Me

 By Somali K Chakrabarti

 What Defines Me


What I value most

As I sat down to write this post, I asked myself ‘What do I value most?

The realization dawned upon me that what I value today is very different from what I valued some years back. Who I am as a person today is not the same as who I was even five years back.

However, what has remained relevant all throughout is the fact that I have allowed myself to learn, evolve, change and challenge my own thinking.

The sum of my experiences, and what I have learned from them define me.

Books have broadened my horizon, travel and interaction with people from different places and countries have taught me the importance of diversity and tolerance. I feel enriched by the wisdom in the doha of Kabir, as much as I feel inspired by the play of words of Wordsworth. The rhymes of Sukumar Roy, songs of Rabindranath Tagore, poems of Subhadra Kumari Chauhan, Sumitranandan Pant have shaped my imagination as much as the writings of Shakespeare and Shelly.

My quest for knowledge continues till date, and stereotypes, I do not propagate.


My Personal Philosophy

The only variable, I believe, which is fully and directly under our control is our own attitude. My thoughts and attitude define me, as do my zealpatience and perseverance.

It is said that the ability to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances makes the difference between a whiner and a winner.

I am clear in my mind that I do NOT want to spend my time whining, whatever the situation is.

I love this quote and completely believe in it :

My personal philosophy would be don’t whine, don’t let opportunities pass you by, be willing to work hard, and remember that you don’t know as much as you think you do, ever.  ~ James Marsters


Success for me is

I measure my success in terms of the value I can create, the work I can do and what I can give back to the society. If I can inspire someone, even for a moment, to do better or think better, I feel I have done something worthwhile.


So That’s Me


This blog is a reflection of how I think and what I believe in. Here you can find more about the things that define me.


This post is a part of #UseYourAnd activity at BlogAdda in association with Gillette Venus.

If you like this post, please consider following the blog.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Please like, share and/or leave feedback in comments below! :P


23 thoughts on “Things That define Me

  1. Whatever happens to us happens for us, the Creator does not dial wrong numbers,

    Every suffering we receive, experience, it makes us stretch ourselves out of our comfort zones and with every effort, we qualify for the next class.

    Nothing goes to waste !!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

